

Sons of The American Legion Detachment of Indiana Post-Convention Detachment Executive Committee Meeting July 9, 2023

Commander Paul Rush opened the meeting at 9:55 am with a right-hand salute to the Colors of our Nation. Chaplain Jeff Gresley said an opening prayer. The POW/MIA flag was in place. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Northern Vice Commander Jeff Gresley. The Preamble to the Constitution of the Sons of The American Legion was led by Southern Vice Commander Steve Brock. The Blue Star Banner was in place.

Commander Rush called on Adjutant Steven Tansel for a roll call which showed the following:

Commander: Northern Vice Commander: Northern Vice Commander: Southern Vice Commander: Southern Vice Commander: Finance Officer: Sgtat-Arms: Sgtat-Arms Emeritus: NEC: Alt. NEC:	Paul Rush William Duncan Jeff Gresley David Pearson Steve Brock Doug Heiser Tom Nedele Galen Close David Hanson Joseph Schultis	(EX)
District Commanders:		
1 ^{st:}	Ken Corbeille	
2 nd :	Tom Potts	
3 ^{rd:}	Mark Smith	
4 ^{th:}	Fred Motley	
5 ^{th:}	Jay Huffman	
6 ^{th:}	John Hook	
7 ^{th:}	Kevin Felker	(UNEX)
8 ^{th:}	Jeff Barker	
9 ^{th:}	Rick Lohrum	
10 ^{th:}	Martin Brown	
11 ^{th:}	Gary Throgmorton	

Past Detachment Commanders:

Larry Paulus	James Arter	Raymond Giehll, Jr
Terry Slagle	David Ridenour	David Siggers
Richard Pfeiffer	Mark Tansel	Steve Tansel
David Hanson	Greg Spaulding	Chris Carlton
Joe Schultis	Doug Heiser	Jimmy Martin
Dennis Budd	Charles Gemlich	

Commander Rush called for the reading of the previous minutes.

PDC Gemlich made a motion to suspend the reading of the previous until published, 2nd PDC Schultis. Motion passed.

New Business:

Commander Rush asked for a motion to accept his Commission & Committee appointments that had been passed out to the DEC members.

PDC Schultis made a motion to accept the Commission & Committee appointments, 2nd PDC Pfeiffer. There was discussion and corrections and changes made. Motion was passed with the corrections and changes. (See Attached)

Commander Rush read his list of appointed officers. Commander Rush asked for a motion to accept his appointed officers. PDC Pfeiffer made a motion to accept the Officers appointments, 2nd PDC Martin. Motion passed by majority. (See Attached)

Unfinished Business: None

Sick Call & Relief: None

Correspondence: None

Good of The Sons of The American Legion:

Adjutant Steve Tansel addressed the meeting concerning him not being reappointed as Adjutant. Steve received the applause of everyone in the meeting.

Many members spoke about the good job Steve had done as Adjutant and thanked him.

PDC Mark Tansel made a motion to reimburse Steve Tansel for his mileage to the meeting with Candidate Paul Rush, 2nd PDC Arter. Motion passed.

New Adjutant Raymond Giehll, Jr said the Organizational Meeting would be scheduled soon for some time in the next 2 weeks at Department Headquarters

With no further business to come before the meeting Commander Rush called on Chaplain Fred Motley for a closing prayer. Chaplain Motley gave the closing prayer. With a right-hand salute to the Colors of our Nation the meeting was closed at 10:44 am.

II		
Adjutant:	Raymond Giehll, Jr	
Asst. Adjutant:	Chris Carlton	
Asst. Adjutant:	James Arter Sr.	
Asst. Adjutant:	Joe Schultis	
Judge Advocate:	Richard Pfeiffer	
Asst. Judge Advocate:	Mark Franke	
Chaplain:	Fred Motley	
Historian:	Matt Gilbert	
Asst. Sgtat-Arms	Cliff Anderson	
Asst. Sgtat-Arms	Ryan Kohlheim	
Asst. Sgtat-Arms	Luke Woodburn	
Asst. Sgtat-Arms	Logan Pipher	
Public Relations Director:	Dave Parker	
Membership Chairman:	David Miller	

Appointed Detachment Officers for 2023-2024:

2023-2024 Commissions & Committees

Americanism Commission

Chairman: Andy Byers Dave Pearson, James Arter, Tom Potts Committees: Athletics Chairman: Walter Moore Ken Corbeille, Al Pulido, David Hanson

Hoosier Boys State Chairman: Tom Nedele Ken Corbeille, Steve Tansel, Jeff Gresley

POW&MIA Chairman: Ron Ripperger Mark Smith, Rick Lohrum, Mike Schuler

5 Star-10 Ideal Chairman: Jim Naylor Gary Throgmorton, Brian Gilbert, Bill Paulus

Children and Youth Commission

Chairman: Mike Tolley Charles Gemlich, Steve Tansel, Matt Gilbert Committees: Child Welfare Foundation Chairman: William Barnett Greg Wagner, Kevin Felker, Chris Carlton American and Government Chairman: David Pearson Garry Miller, Dick Reed Children's Hospital Chairman: Gary Throgmorton Bill Paulus, Dustin Owens, John Hook Law Cadet Academy Chairman: Cliff Stephens Mike Tolley, Gary Throgmorton, David Hanson

Shooting Sports Chairman: Fred Motley Mike Schuler, Craig Titzer, Brian Hauser

Special Olympics Chairman: Brian Gilbert Logan Pipher, Mike Pipher, Marty Brown Oratorical Chairman: Mike Pipher Greg Spaulding, Mark Franke, Brian Gilbert

Internal Affairs Commission

Chairman: Jeff Gresley

3yr Charles Gemlich, 2yr Dennis Budd, 1yr Jimmy Martin,

Committees

Community Involvement Chairman: Kevin Felker Dewey Long, Ken Corbeille, Tom Potts

Campout

Chairman: Steve Brock

Jay Huffman, Dennis Budd, Charles Gemlich

Information and Training

Chairman: Dave Parker

Terry Slagle, Joe Schultis, Doug Heiser

Public Relations & Information Technology

Chairman: Dave Parker

Terry Slagle, Joe Schultis, Doug Heiser

Convention

Chairman: Bill Duncan

2yr North, Ken Corbeille 2yr South, David Pearson

1yr North, Fred Motley 1yr South, Brian Gilbert

Legislative

Chairman: Richard Pfeiffer

Mark Franke, Dave Brown, Mark Faulkner

Scholarship Chairman: Matt Gilbert Raymond Giehll, III, Mark Franke, Jimmy Martin

Religious Emphasis Chairman: Fred Motley Larry Paulus, Dewey Long, Mark Smith, ALL DISTRICT CHAPLAINS

Rehabilitation Commission

Chairman: David Pearson

3yr Greg Wagner, 2yr Jeff Barker, 1yr Richard Reed

Committees:

Homeless Veterans Chairman: Tom Potts Gary Throgmorton, Marty Brown, John Hook

IVH

Chairman: Bob Shields Chairman Emeritus: James Arter Sr. Andy Byers, Noble Pulsipher. Dewey Long

VAVS

Chairman: Jay Huffman 3yr Jimmy Martin, 2yr Ron Ripperger, 1yr Matt Kearns

VE & E

Chairman: Tom Nedele

ALL Detachment Vice Commanders, All District Commanders

Stand Alone Committees

Distinguished Guests

Chairman: Joe Schultis

Raymond Giehll, Jr., Richard Pfeiffer, Chris Carlton

Finance and Budget Chairman: Raymond Giehll Jr. 3yr David Siggers, 2yr Jimmy Martin, 1yr Greg Spaulding

Resolutions

Chairman: David Hanson Richard Pfeiffer, Terry Slagle, Greg Spaulding

Sons IN Need (SIN)

Chairman: Greg Wagner

Doug Heiser, Jimmy Martin, Jay Huffman

Membership & Squadron Expansion Chairman: David Miller ALL VICE COMMANDERS & ALL DISRICT COMMANDERS & ALL SQUADRON COMMANDERS